James Cotton - Mighty Long Time [Vinyl]

Regular price $16.20
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
  • 180g black vinyl
  • 12", 2-LP
  • Includes digital download code

This record is about James Cotton’s blues roots. It was Clifford Antone’s inspiration for James to include “Straighten Up Baby” and “Hold Me In Your Arms” on this album because both songs mark the beginning of Cotton’s influential recording career. James originally cut these two sides for Sun Records in the early 1950’s, and today he burns with the same intense fire that he started on those first issues.

From Memphis and Sun Records, James made his way to Chicago with Muddy Waters where he played on some of the blues master’s Chess recordings. Since the early sixties, James has established himself as a bandleader and performer of unbelievable energy. He has the unique ability to absorb and transcend musical styles, bridging the distance from today’s most modern blues to the pre-Chicago sides of Sonny Boy Williamson, Howlin’ Wolf, and Muddy Waters. His atmospheric version of “Mighty Long Time” on this record breathes the same eerie loneliness as Sonny Boy’s original. James Cotton is of that time and place, and he takes us there on this great recording.

James Cotton thanks: Matt Murphy, Hubert Sumlin, Wayne Bennett, Luther Tucker, Jimmie Vaughan, Antone’s Records and all the musicians who made this project possible.

Antone’s Records thanks: Jim O’Neal, Lewis Cowdrey; also, Wayne Bennett for arranging and conducting “Stormy Monday.”


Side A -

  1. Straighten Up Baby
  2. Everything Gonna Be Alright
  3. Black Nights
  4. Blow Wind Blow

Side B -

  1. Sugar Sweet
  2. Moanin’ At Midnight 
  3. Baby Please
  4. Hold Me In Your Arms

Side C -

  1. Stormy Monday
  2. Three Hundred Pounds Of Joy
  3. Northside Cadillac
  4. Mighty Long Time

Side D -

  1. Every Night And Every Day
  2. Cotton Crop Blues
  3. Got My Nose Open
  4. Too Many Drivers