The Flatlanders - The Odessa Tapes [CD/DVD]

Regular price $12.00
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
  • Jewel Case 

The Odessa Tapes is a bonafide Americana treasure. After being forgotten about and stored for decades in the bass player’s closet, the remixed and remastered 14 songs are undeniably bright, immediate and magical. Many are familiar with these song titles from their 1972 Plantation debut recorded in Nashville but these earlier recordings eschew the polished production and bristle with innocence and the energy that is pure Texas.

New West Records along with The Flatlanders have overseen the restoration, research and release of their true debut album. Recorded in 1972 in Tommy Allsup’s Odessa, TX studio, the band put 14 songs to 3-track tape. Four of these recordings (*) have never been available on any Flatlanders album. Now for the first time, everyone can hear the real sound of the legendary Flatlanders.


CD - 

  1. I Know You
  2. Number Sixteen*
  3. Shadow Of The Moon*
  4. Dallas
  5. Down In My Hometown
  6. Stars In My Life
  7. I Think Too Much Of You*
  8. Bhagavan Decreed
  9. Tonight I Think I’m Gonna Go Downtown
  10. You’ve Never Seen Me Cry
  11. One Road More
  12. Story Of You*
  13. Rose From The Mountain
  14. The Heart You Left Behind

*Never before released

DVD - 

Bonus DVD features 45 minutes of Q&A with the band, acoustic performances, vintage footage.