Drive-By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera - Deluxe Edition [Color Vinyl]

Regular price $71.00
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This item is a pre-order set to ship on or before 7/26/24. Please note that your full order will not ship until this item's release date.

  • 140g clear color vinyl
  • 12", 3-LP 
  • Rigid Slipcase
  • 2xLP in gatefold, bonus 1xLP in jacket
  • 28p book with spot glosses throughout
  • Red foil stamping on slipcase

Southern Rock Opera is the third studio album by the American rock band Drive-By Truckers, released in 2001. Originally released as a double album covering an ambitious range of subject matter from the politics of race to 1970s stadium rock, Southern Rock Opera either imagines, or filters, every topic through the context of legendary Southern band Lynyrd Skynyrd. 

New West Records is proud to present a remixed and remastered deluxe edition LP featuring a resequenced record as well as a third disc with multiple bonus tracks including a song - “Mystery Song” - that was recorded one night in Birmingham. Lead Singer, Patterson Hood, explains, ““Birmingham” and “Moved” were originally part of Act I on the original CD release. This is the first vinyl version to feature “Moved” and we felt that “Birmingham” would be the best other song to move without messing up the story element of Betamax Guillotine. We moved them here to keep the vinyl sides within time of maximum high fidelity. (Under 23 minutes per mastering guidelines).

In the process of re-mixing the original tracks for the album, we stumbled upon a mysterious track that was recorded late one night in Birmingham. None of us have any memory whatsoever of recording it. The song itself was never even written down, just made up on the spot while the tape was rolling. We’re calling it “Mystery Song.” It’s actually a keeper.”

This 3-disc deluxe edition comes packed in a foil stamped rigid slipcase with the original album packaged as a 2xLP set in gatefold. The 3rd LP is packaged in a separate jacket. Each record comes with a 28-page book that is given the spot gloss treatment throughout.


ACT I - Disc 1 -

Side A - 

  1. Days of Graduation
  2. Ronnie and Neil
  3. 72 (This Highway's Mean) 
  4. Dead, Drunk, and Naked 
  5. Guitar Man Upstairs

Side B - 

  1. The Southern Thing
  2. The Three Great Alabama Icons
  3. Wallace
  4. Zip City

ACT II - Disc 2 -

Side A - 

  1. Let There Be Rock
  2. Road Cases
  3. Women Without Whiskey
  4. Plastic Flowers on the Highway
  5. Cassie's Brother

Side B - 

  1. Life in the Factory
  2. Shut Up and Get on the Plane
  3. Greenville to Baton Rouge
  4. Angels and Fuselage


Disc 3 - Side A - (recommended to play between Act I & II)

  1. Birmingham (Remixed/Remastered)
  2. Mystery Song (Unreleased Bonus Track)
  3. Moved (Remixed/Remastered)


LIVE AT THE EARL (Atlanta, GA - November 24, 2001) - 

Disc 3 - Side B - 

  1. Don’t Cockblock the Rock (Unreleased Bonus Track)
  2. Zip City (Live)
  3. Road Cases (Live)
  4. 72 (This Highway’s Mean) (Live)