Jessie Baylin - Strawberry Wind [Vinyl]

Regular price $13.80
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
  • 150g Supermoon cream-colored vinyl
  • 12", 1-LP
  • Includes digital download code

Strawberry Wind, produced by Richard Swift (Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats, Foxygen, The Shins) not only delivers on a promise to create an honest album for kids and parents, but it represents what Baylin calls the “beautiful divide,” of juggling family life with her creative life, a difficult task by any measure. “The divide in me is easy to feel because I invest 100% of myself into my family and often the creative get’s put to the side,” she explained, “so when I decided to begin writing for this album it just poured out of me.” And, now singer/songwriter Jessie Baylin is sharing that creative outpouring on her debut children’s album, Strawberry Wind

Throughout the album, Baylin doesn’t hold back on telling it like it is. Weaving through lyrical themes of dream life, supermoons, and summertime vibes are some gentle doses of reality. “I don’t want to lie to my kids. Life is hard sometimes and you need to find a way to deal with it... there will always be things in life you can’t control. But, you can dream of a better world and make your own refuge,” says Baylin, who is mom to 4-year-old Violet and is expecting her second child with her husband.

Baylin, who’s released four critically-acclaimed albums over the years, says the seed was planted for this album after recording a cover of Harry Nilsson’s “He Needs Me” from the kids’ film Popeye. “The song has a childlike sense, but the message is very deep. It’s magical, it’s dark, and it hit all the right notes. I wanted to do an album that feels like that” she says. “Since becoming a mother, I found myself being around the house a lot and I started gravitating to these wonderful albums I remembered from my own childhood — The Beatles, Harry Nilsson’s The Point!, John Lennon, Roger Miller’s Robin Hood and Carole King’s Really Rosie.” 

The magic of those iconic ‘70s records she mentions is that they’re all grounded in solid songwriting and were never dumbed down for the audience. “Those records felt very honest and that was my mission here. I also wanted it to feel magical and remind people of the child inside of all of us that is filled with a sense of wonder and pure joy and hope."


Side A -

  1. Dream Catcher
  2. Supermoon
  3. Strawberry Wind
  4. Same Old Tune
  5. Sparkle Shoelaces
  6. Little Bird

Side B - 

  1. Magic Of Your Mind 
  2. It’s The Summertime
  3. I Am A Dreamer
  4. Power In Words
  5. We Need Each Other