Merle Haggard '78 - Live From Austin, TX [CD/DVD]

Regular price $14.70
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

When he stepped onto the Austin City Limits stage for the very first time on that brisk January day in 1978, Merle Haggard was at the top of his game. It had been over a decade since his first national hit, "Sing A Sad Song", and not that long after "Okie From Muskogee" had firmly planted his music in the public consciousness. He had already been declared "Entertainer of the Year" by both the Country Music Awards and Academy of Country Music - in the same year (1970). He had just released A Tribute to the Best Damn Fiddle Player in the World (Or MY Salute to Bob Willis), which sparked a revival of interest in western swing. And with his band, The Strangers, it's no stretch to say that he had the best live show in country music of his day.

- Terry Lickona (Producer Austin City Limits®)

  • Combo includes DVD video and audio CD
  • Remastered in 5.1 DTS surround sound and 2.0 stereo
  • NTSC, Region Free
  • 52 mins


  1. Working Man Can’t Get Nowhere Today
  2. Silver Wings
  3. Ramblin’ Fever
  4. The Fugitive Song
  5. Sing Me Back Home
  6. Orange Blossom Special
  7. Old-Fashioned Love
  8. Long Black Limousine
  9. Cherokee Maiden
  10. San Antonio Rose
  11. Misery
  12. The Farmer’s Daughter
  13. Brain Cloudy Blues
  14. Workin’ Man Blues

Recorded January 18, 1978