Texas Tornados - Live From Austin, TX [CD/DVD]

Regular price $21.00
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Call it serendipity or genius, but when four legends of Texas music pooled their talents in December 1989, a new sound was born: the Texas Tornados. The band was new but its members were no strangers to center stage. Freddy Fender was a mega-star with his hits "Wasted Days and Wasted Nights" and "Before the Next Teardrop Falls." Doug Sahm and Augie Meyers formed the The Sir Douglas Quintet in San Antonio in the mid-60's, combining psychedelia, Gulf Coast blues, big band pop and spicy conjunto in a sound that shook up the pop charts with "She's About a Mover." Then there's Flaco Jiminez who, along with his father and brother used their accordions to invent their own music genre; mixing up Mexican Norteño music with German/Czech polkas and waltzes. Together, this 'Tex-Mex revue' created a raucous, infectious, danceable sound that ranks as an all-time Austin City Limits® favorite. This show is an unforgettable tribute to the late Doug Sahm as a larger-than life Texas icon.

-Terry Lickona (Producer Austin City Limits®)

  • Combo includes DVD video and audio CD
  • Remastered in 5.1 DTS surround sound and 2.0 stereo
  • NTSC, Region Free
  • 78 mins


  1. Soy De San Luis
  2. A Man Can Cry
  3. (Hey Baby) Que Paso
  4. Laredo Rose
  5. Ay Te Dejo En San Antonio
  6. Cancion Mixteca
  7. Dinero
  8. Mathilda
  9. Adios Mexico
  10. She Never Spoke Spanish To Me
  11. Only One
  12. Mendocino
  13. Wasted Days & Wasted Nights
  14. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  15. If That's What You're Thinking
  16. Who Were You Thinkin' Of
  17. Before The Next Teardrop Falls
  18. She's About A Mover
  19. 96 Tears

    Recorded October 10, 1990

    * Note: Product images may vary slightly from actual product. Images are for demonstration purposes only.