Luther Dickinson - Rock 'n Roll Blues [CD]

Regular price $8.40
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
  • Digiwallet

Luther Dickinson enters a new phase of his storied musical career with his rollicking and raw new solo album, Rock ‘n Roll Blues. From the propulsive beat and unbridled sound of opener Vandalize, to the insanely catchy Bar Band, it’s clear this is a unique chapter in the acclaimed Southern musician’s songbook. More informed by a youth spent listening to punk rock than the blues and boogie rock of his revered band North Mississippi Allstars, the record consists mostly of acoustic guitar, stand up bass and drums and although not punk in sound, it is in spirit and the DIY ethos. In essence, an autobiography set to music, the 10-track LP traces Luther’s journey from excitable teen to tour-van vet and offers a side of himself seldom seen before.

The son of the late great producer and musician Jim Dickinson, Luther made his recording debut at age 14 and has recorded with a who’s who of musicians including The Replacements, Beck, Jon Spencer, John Hiatt, Levon Helm, Mavis Staples, Ry Cooder and Patty Grifffin. He is the lead guitarist and vocalist for the North Mississippi Allstars and widely known as both a talented musician and producer with four Grammy® nominations to prove it - three in the contemporary blues category and one in traditional folk.


  1. Vandalize
  2. Blood ‘n Guts
  3. Yard Man
  4. Goin’ Country
  5. Mojo, Mojo
  6. Rock ‘n Roll Blues
  7. Bar Band
  8. Stone’s Throw
  9. Some Ol’ Day
  10. Karmic Debt