Mark Olson & Gary Louris - Ready For The Flood [CD]

Regular price $8.40
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
  • Digipak

Although they’ve toured together and renewed their friendship, this is the first recording by Olson and Louris since Olson left the Jayhawks in 1995. What would become Ready For The Flood was recorded at Sage & Sound Studios in Hollywood with friend Chris Robinson of The Black Crowes. Louris had called in Robinson, who happened to be in town at that point, for “vibe support” and he ended up producing the album; he also appears on the album playing harmonica and contributing backing vocals. Ready For The Flood captures the stripped down, fingerpicked guitar playing and Laurel Canyon sound of an earlier time, with allusions to English folk – Bert Jansch, Nick Drake, John Renbourne, whom both Mark and Gary had both been getting into independently – and a simpler, live recording technique where capturing the right vibe was as important as the sound. It’s an album that only two career musicians and friends could make – organic, intuitive and loosely confident, heartfelt and moving, echoing with the combined experience of two kindred spirits reuniting to do what they do – and love – best.


  1. The Rose Society
  2. Bicycle
  3. Turn Your Pretty Name Around
  4. Saturday Morning On Sunday Street
  5. Kick The Wood
  6. Chamberlain, SD
  7. Black Eyes
  8. Doves And Stones
  9. My Gospel Song For You
  10. When The Wind Comes Up
  11. Bloody Hands
  12. Life's Warm Sheets
  13. The Trap's Been Set
  14. Precious Time (Bonus Track)
  15. Cotton Dress (Bonus Track