The Flatlanders - Live '72 [CD]

Regular price $14.00
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
  • Jewel Case 

New West released The Flatlanders Live ’72. Recorded at the One Knite (where Stubb’s BBQ is now) in June of 1972. The band didn’t even know this recording existed until the spring of 2003. The Flatlanders (Joe Ely, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Butch Hancock) initial incarnation had lasted less than a year. They only played a handful of gigs, maybe 15 or so, mostly in somebody’s living room. The One Knite was an Austin, Texas bar that catered to the down-and-out and had just recently started hosting bands who played for tips. The owner, Gary Oliver, was an amateur recording buff and, for his own enjoyment, recorded many of the bands that played in his club. On the night of this performance, only fifteen or twenty people were in the audience (a good crowd for the ’72 Flatlanders). This set was typical of The Flatlanders at the time – loose, spirited and soulful. Some Hank, some Townes, a couple of Butch’s songs, a couple by Al Strehli. Jimmie did more of the lead singing in those days, Joe sang a few. For reasons no one recalls, Butch didn’t take a lead on this particular night. What Joe thinks is unique about this set is that it exists at all. We think the song list and the harmonies are extraordinary. We’ll wager you too will find some things that pleasantly surprise you. It’s the sound of a ‘one-day-to-be-legendary’ band that doesn’t know the tape is running; it’s the unfettered Flatlanders. 


  1. The Stars In My Life
  2. Honky Tonk Blues
  3. San Francisco Bay Blues
  4. Long Time Gone
  5. Settin' The Woods On Fire
  6.  Love, Please Come Home
  7. You've Never Seen Me Cry
  8. Long Snake Moan
  9. I Know You
  10. Waitin' Around To Die
  11. Hesitation Blues
  12. Tecumseh Valley
  13. Walkin' Down The Line
  14.  So I'll Run
  15. Bring It On Home To Me
  16.  Joe Blon